2007 Law
LAW 21 - CALL BASED ON MISINFORMATION
A. Call Based on Caller’s Misunderstanding

No rectification or redress is due to a player who acts on the basis of his own
misunderstanding.

B. Call Based on Misinformation from an Opponent

1. (a) Until the end of the auction period and provided that his partner has not subsequently
called, a player may change a call without other rectification for his side when the Director
judges that the decision to make the call could well have been influenced by misinformation
given to the player by an opponent (see Law 17E). Failure to alert promptly where an alert is
required by the Regulating Authority is deemed misinformation.

(b) The Director is to presume Mistaken Explanation rather than Mistaken Call in the
absence of evidence to the contrary.

2. When a player elects to change a call because of misinformation (as in 1 preceding), his
LHO may then in turn change any subsequent call he may have made, without other
rectification unless at the end of the hand the Director judges his withdrawn call to have
conveyed such information as to damage the non-offending side in which case Law 16D
applies.

3. When it is too late to change a call and the Director judges that the offending side gained
an advantage from the irregularity he awards an adjusted score.



2017 Law
LAW 21 - MISINFORMATION
A. Call or Play Based on Player’s Own Misunderstanding

No rectification or redress is due to a player who acts on the basis of his own
misunderstanding.

B. Call Based on Misinformation from an Opponent

1. (a) Until the end of the auction period (see Law 17D) and provided that his partner has not
subsequently called, a player may change a call without other rectification for his side when
the Director judges that the decision to make the call could well have been influenced by
misinformation given to the player by an opponent. Failure to alert promptly where an alert is
required by the Regulating Authority is deemed misinformation.

(b) The Director is to presume Mistaken Explanation rather than Mistaken Call in the
absence of evidence to the contrary.

2. When a player elects to change a call because of misinformation (as in 1 preceding), his
LHO may then in turn change any subsequent call he may have made, but Law 16C applies.

3. When it is too late to change a call and the Director judges that the offending side gained
an advantage from the irregularity he awards an adjusted score.



