2017 Laws Article for Ruling the Game Column

As of September 25, 2017 the Laws of Duplicate Bridge 2017 will take effect in the
ACBL. The new laws will soon be available in printed form and available from bridge
suppliers.

The trends of recent revisions to the laws generally have continued. Attempts have been
made to modify language for clarity. Other changes have been made to give directors
more discretion in some situations in an attempt to achieve more equitable results
instead of imposing arbitrary penalties that often lead to random outcomes. For the most
part there are only a few major changes from the 2008 Laws. This article and ones to
follow will highlight changes made that will be important for club directors to know.

--Law 6 The Shuffle and Deal has been changed to require that two adjacent cards in the
deck not be dealt to the same player. The law continues to recommend that cards be
dealt in rotation clockwise (although other methods are legal).

--Law 7 Control of Board and Cards has a couple of changes. The old Law 7A required
that the board be placed in the center of the table until play is completed. The new 7A
goes further to say “it is placed in the center of the table where it shall remain, correctly
oriented, until play is completed.” So the board should not only remain on the table
throughout the hand, it should not be twisted from its proper orientation at any time
during. Among other reasons, this is intended to prevent fouled boards. As well, Law
7B now gives a player the right to touch and inspect an opponent's hand after play with
permission of an opponent or the director. The old 7B required the director's permission.

--Law 9A Drawing Attention to an Irregularity has been reworded in an attempt at
greater clarity. In general, any player including dummy may attempt to prevent a player
from committing an infraction or irregularity. Once an irregularity has occurred, though,
only players other than dummy have a general right to draw attention to it during play.
However, it is an important principle in bridge law that a specific law takes precedence
over a more general law. So while in general dummy may attempt to prevent an
irregularity before it occurs, there are specific situations where dummy may not do so.
For example, Law 61B bars dummy from asking a defender if he revoked during play.
As well, if dummy has forfeited those rights by looking at cards in the hand of declarer
or a defender then Law 43 prohibits dummy from warning declarer about leading from
the wrong hand or asking declarer about a possible revoke during play. As it applies to
players other than dummy, the right to draw attention to an irregularity after it has
occurred may be restricted by a more specific law than this one. A good example of that
Is Law 65B, which prevents dummy or defenders from pointing out that a trick is
pointed incorrectly once the lead has been made to the following trick.



--Law 12C Awarding and Adjusted Score. Notice that the standard used in the ACBL
until 2016 for adjusting scores after an infraction has been completely omitted from the
new laws. The old standard for assigning “the most favorable result that was likely” to
the non-offending side and the “most unfavorable result that was at all probable” to the
offending side is gone. The current standard for assigning an adjusted score is found in
the new Law 12C1(b): “The Director in awarding an assigned adjusted score should
seek to recover as nearly as possible the probable outcome of the board had the
infraction not occurred.” Assigning weights to different probable outcomes is permitted.

--Law 13 Incorrect Number of Cards. This law has been rewritten for clarity and now
allows for more circumstances where the director may allow normal play of a board to
occur when a player has an incorrect number of cards and someone has seen a card or
cards belonging to another player. Note that this law does not apply in cases where there
Is a missing card. Law 14 applies to that situation and it is largely unchanged.

--Law 15 Wrong Board or Hand. This law now incorporates procedures on how the
director should handle situations where a player makes a call with cards from a wrong
board. Those provisions used to be found in Law 17 (The Auction Period), but many
overlooked it there. The new law allows a correction and normal play to occur even if
LHO has called after a player with the wrong hand has made a call (although it is too
late once the partner of the player with the wrong cards has made a call). Another
significant change to this law is what the director should do when it is discovered during
the auction that the wrong pair has been seated in a pair or individual event. In the 2008
Laws the director was instructed to stop the auction, seat the correct pair, and allow a
result if the new auction matched the one with the wrong pair. Now, assuming neither
pair has played the board the director is instructed to leave the wrong pair at the table if
an auction has begun and let that result stand for both sides. He may require both pairs
to play the correct board against one another later, and he should give average plus to
any pair deprived of the opportunity to play a board as a result of the wrong pair being
seated.

--Law 20 Review and Explanation of Calls. There are a couple of interesting changes to
this law. The 2008 Laws stated that it was “improper” to ask a question solely for
partner's benefit” (20G1). The new laws use stronger language: “A player may not ask a
question if his sole purpose is to benefit partner.” As can be seen in the Introduction to
the Laws in the front of the book, the phrase “may not” is intended to mean that a player
doing this should receive a procedural penalty. As well, there is a new 20G2 that states:
“A player may not ask a question if his sole purpose is to elicit an incorrect response
from an opponent.” So it is quite improper for a player who knows what is going on to
ask a question with the sole intent being to get an incorrect answer that will give an
opponent unauthorized information. In general, the laws make a clear statement that
players are entitled to have information about the methods of the opponents fully and



freely available. But at the same time, the laws take a strong stand against those who
might abuse that principle to game the system to their advantage.

Law 23 Comparable Call. The contents of the old Law 23 (Awareness of Potential
Damage) have been moved to Law 72 (General Principles). This is a completely new
law that represents what is probably the biggest change in the new laws. As mentioned
in the preface to this series of articles, the lawmakers have been moving towards more
equitable solutions after irregularities rather than imposing arbitrary penalties that
needlessly distort the outcome of a board. That is the intent of this law, and it expands
the application to other laws the idea first seen in the insufficient bid law in the 2008
version. Its basic goal is to allow a player to substitute a call for an illegal one without
penalty as long as any information from the illegal call does not give the offending side
an advantage. It will now apply to certain passes, bids, doubles, and redoubles out of
rotation in addition to insufficient bids. Here is how a Comparable Call is defined.

A call that replaces a withdrawn call is comparable call if it:

1. has the same or a similar meaning as that attributable to the withdrawn call,
or

2. defines a subset of the possible meanings attributable to the withdrawn call,
or

3. has the same purpose (e.g. an asking bid or a relay) as that attributable to
the withdrawn call.

So for those out of rotation calls that used to result in partner being barred from bidding,
under the new laws the director may be able to allow a substitution that permits normal
play to continue. The director should now do so in the laws mentioned above if the
substituted call has the same or a very similar meaning as the withdrawn call, or if it is a
“subset” of the meanings of the withdrawn call (such as a pass out of turn at partner's
turn later corrected to a pass of partner's opening one level suit bid), or if it performs the
same function as the withdrawn call (such as a 2C bid over partner's 2NT, intended as
Stayman and corrected to 3C, also Stayman). The director obviously will have to
exercise more judgment here than before and many of these rulings will become more
difficult than they were under the old laws. That is the tradeoff for rules that are
intended to be more fair and less arbitrary. Just keep in mind that the overriding
principle to be used is that if it is quite clear that there is little or no information
available to partner from the withdrawn call that wasn't available in the substituted call,
the director should allow the auction to proceed without penalty in cases where this new
law applies. If it seems later that something unexpected did occur in the application of
this law that gave the offending side an advantage, the director still has the right to
revisit the situation and make an adjusted score. Law 23C states: “If following the
substitution of a comparable call the Director judges at the end of play that without the



assistance gained through the infraction the outcome of the board could well have been
different, and in consequence the non-offending side is damaged, he shall award an
adjusted score.”

While it will be discussed later in reference to changes to the laws on lead penalties, it
should be noted here that no lead penalties apply if the director allows the substitution of
a comparable call for a withdrawn call.

Law 25 Legal and lllegal Changes of Call. This law has been reworded to some extent,
but its intent has not really changed. The director may allow a change of call without
penalty until partner's next call as long as the call made was unintended at the point it
occurred and not due to “a loss of concentration regarding the intent of the action”. For
example, if a player who opens 1H with a hand containing two hearts and five spades
tells the director he intended to bid 1S, the director should routinely accept the player's
contention that his hand slipped from what he really intended and allow a change to 1S.
The 1H bid was almost certainly the result of a mechanical error in grasping the proper
bid card, not the result of momentary confusion. But if a player claims that he intended
to open 1S instead of 1C and he is 5-5 in spades and clubs, it is unlikely that the reason
it occurred was because of a simple hand slip. The two bids are far apart in most bid
boxes, so a more likely reason it occurred was that the player was thinking clubs when
he pulled 1C from the bid box. That is not a mechanical error, rather it is “a loss of
concentration regarding the intent of the action”. Similarly, in an auction of 1H — P —4D
(splinter) — P where opener now passes but claims he intended to bid 4H, the director
should rule that pass cannot be changed. While the player may never have intended to
play in 4D, he was probably confused about where the auction stood and thought “We
are high enough, I will pass.” This player lost his concentration and intended to pull
pass at the moment he did it. It was not a mechanical error since his hand did not slip, it
was a momentary lapse of concentration.

Notice that the new law specifies in 25A3 that it does not matter how a player learns he
has made an unintended call for a change to be permitted. All references to “pause for
thought” have been removed from the new Law 25 since that phrase was deflecting
many from the true intent of the law. For example, if a player's LHO asks his partner
what his bid meant and the answer is a surprise and causes the player to look down and
notice that what he actually bid was different than his intent at the moment he did it, the
director may allow him to change it. As above, though, the director needs to satisfy
himself that the bid made was a mechanical error and not a lapse of concentration.

Law 26 Call Withdrawn, Lead Restrictions. This law has been revamped from the
previous version and is now simpler. It does not apply in cases where a comparable call
has been made or where a call is changed due to it being unintended (see previous
articles in this series). When a player withdraws a call and replaces it with another to



correct an irregularity and he later becomes a defender, declarer may choose one suit
that was not specified in the legal auction by the offender and prohibit his partner from
leading that suit the first time he obtains the lead (including opening lead). Such a
prohibition continues for as long as partner retains the lead. There are no longer any
cases where declarer will have the option to require the lead of a particular suit. For
example, suppose a player makes an insufficient 1H bid over a 1S bid and replaces it
with a pass and does not bid later in the auction. If the offending side is later on defense
declarer may choose any one suit at offender's partner's first turn to lead and forbid him
from leading that suit while he holds the lead. If on the other hand offender in the legal
auction later raised partner's club bid, clubs would be exempt from the list of suits
declarer could choose. Note that in all cases where a call is changed to something other
than a comparable call, the partner has unauthorized information throughout the deal
that may restrict his legal choices.

Law 27 Insufficient Bid. The wording of the new law has been changed to incorporate
Law 23's concept of “comparable call” rather than the current law's wording of “the
same meaning as or a more precise meaning than the insufficient bid”. The wording has
also been changed in 27B1(a) to allow penalty-free corrections of insufficient bids at the
lowest sufficient level as long as both calls specify the same suit or suits (even if the suit
bid insufficiently is different from the sufficient call). This continues and extends the
philosophy of the laws that as long as essentially the same information is available from
either call it is desirable to achieve a normal bridge result. So for example, in an auction
of INT — 2S overcall — 2D where 2D is intended as a transfer to hearts, 2D may be
corrected to a natural 3H without penalty.

Law 30 Pass out of Rotation, Law 31 Bid out of Rotation, and Law 32 Double or
Redouble out of Rotation. These laws have all incorporated the previously discussed
concept of comparable call found in the new Law 23. There are significant changes here
that will require study. Note particularly that even when some out of turn bids, doubles,
and redoubles are not corrected by a comparable call offender's partner is no longer
automatically required to pass throughout the entire auction. When a comparable call is
chosen under these laws, the offender's partner is not barred at all. As always, keep in
mind Law 23C in all cases where a comparable call is permitted under these three laws
or the insufficient bid law. It states that if “the Director judges at the end of the play that
without the assistance gained through the infraction the outcome of the board could well
have been different, and in consequence the non-offending side is damaged, he shall
award an adjusted score.” If at the end of the deal it seems that something unexpected
did occur after permitting a comparable call to be made that gave the offending side an
advantage, the director still has the right to revisit the situation and make an adjusted
score.

Law 43 Dummy's Limitations. Dummy may no longer look at a defender's hand even if



it is not at his own initiative. He will now simply not be allowed to look, and defender
may no longer show dummy his hand. As well, if dummy has violated his limitations
described in this law and he is the first to draw attention to a defender's irregularity, the
declaring side will keep the score achieved at the table even though by use of a split
score the defending side will have its score adjusted if it gained through the irregularity.

Law 53 Lead out of Turn Accepted. A lead out of turn to trick thirteen may not be
accepted and must be retracted.

Law 57 Premature Lead or Play. Among the existing options declarer has when a
defender leads before his partner has played to the current trick or plays out of turn
before his partner has played, declarer may now also choose to require offender’s partner
to play a card of another suit specified by declarer. Note that this law continues not to
apply in cases where the action of partner is a claim or concession of more than just the
trick in progress—see Law 68.

Law 65 Arrangement of Tricks. A player may point out a card pointed incorrectly, but
only until his side leads or plays to the following trick. Declarer is now bound by the
same time limit as the other players at the table.

Law 66 Inspection of Tricks. Declarer or a defender may inspect (but not expose) his
own last card played until his side has led or played to the next trick. This is a change
from the current time limit of until a card is led by either side to the next trick.

Law 68 Claim or Concession of Tricks. The major change in this law is that at the
request of the non-claiming or non-conceding side and with the concurrence of all four
players, play may continue without the need to summon the director. Previously, play
was supposed to cease once a claim or concession was made. If the players agree to
play on, the table result achieved will stand. The claimer/conceder picks up his faced
hand in such cases and play continues. Silence in response to a request to play on is
deemed to be concurrence. If instead someone does not agree, the director is called.
Once the director is called there is no second chance to play on. He arrives and applies
Law 70.

Law 73 Communication, Tempo, and Deception. Part E of this law continues to
recognize a player's right to deceive an opponent by a call or play so long as that call or
play is not protected by concealed partnership understanding or experience. Players
may purposely violate partnership agreements (excluding certain psychic bids prohibited
by regulation) in an attempt to deceive an opponent. For example, players may
deliberately play a deceptive card in an attempt to make an opponent go wrong. Now
explicit to the law, though, is that it is not legal to emphasize that deception with
“unwonted haste or hesitancy”. For example, it is not legal to take a long time to decide



which of two low equal cards to play in order to deceive an opponent when the effect of
the hesitation is to give that opponent the reasonable impression you were considering
winning the trick.

Law 75 Mistaken Explanation or Mistaken Call. This law has been restructured with
examples removed, and it is now more clear that failure to disclose information
accurately constitutes Misinformation that may lead to a score adjustment. Players
should always disclose partnership agreements fully and freely upon request, but they
also need to realize that answering inquiries from an opponent with words such as “I
take it to mean” or “I think it means” are improper. If no agreement exists players are
expected to state that fact, not guess what a bid means. Doing otherwise not only can
cause misinformation leading to a score adjustment, it also gives partner unauthorized
information that may lead to a score adjustment.



